Branches and Roots of TCM


1.) Jīng Luò 经 络 Acupuncture System

a. Anatomy (Eastern and Western Theories)

b. Xué 穴 位 (Points)

c. Mai 脈 (Pathways)

Therapies: Acupressure, Cupping, Moxa, Magnets

2.) Yào  藥 Herbs

a. Teas and Decoct

b. Tinctures and Wines

c. Oils, Balms, Liniments, and Compresses

d. Powders, Pills, Tablets

3.) Nutrition and Food Therapy

4.) Massage

a. Jie Gu – Bone Setting Skill

b. Tui Na – Muscle Manipulation

c. Gua Sha – Scraping Therapy

d. An Mo – Visceral Manipulation

f. Jing Point Therapy

5.) Exercise Nei Jia – Wai Jia

a. Qi Gong (Qi Cultivation & Therapy)

b. Tai Ji, Xing Yi, Ba Gua

c. Nei Gong (Mediation, Internal Alchemy)


1.) Six Stages

a. Tai Yin

b. Shao Yin

c. Jue Yin

d. Tai Yang

e. Yang Ming

f. Shao Yang

2.) Wu Xing – Five Phases

a. Jin (Metal)

b. Shui (Water)

c. Mu (Wood)

d. Huo (Fire)

e. Tu (Earth)

3.) Eight Principles

Yin Yang
Interior Exterior
Cold Hot
Deficient Excess

4.) San Jiao (Triple Burners)

a. Upper Jiao = Lungs & Heart

b. Middle Jiao = Spleen & Stomach

c. Lower Jiao = Liver, Urinary Bladder, Kidney, & Large Intestines

5.) Four Levels

a. Wei = Spiritual, Emotional & Body Energy

b. Ying = Nurturing Energy

c. Qi = Sea of Marrow & Core of Light

d. Xue = River of Blood